The Unknown Citizen

Daniel Loftus
2 min readDec 26, 2023

--

Welcome to my blog’s new old home. I know that sentence in itself is a contradiction, but it was the next best thing compared to the other platforms out there, so I decided to revisit Medium as a platform. Here is one of the posts that was in the vault but never saw the light of day, until now!

Now when we mightn’t be able to find a death cert for someone, we might joke around that our ancestor may be a vampire or a zombie [whatever you choose] another possibility that could potentially happen is that they were buried but never identified.

I’ll start with this tweet of my sad discovery:

This is the image that is in the tweet above:

[NOT MY OWN IMAGE] Source: www.irishgenealogy.ie

This is one of over 8,500 people who died as “Unknown Unknown”, imagine if we did the technology that we have now back then, all that could have been solved, this might have been able to give families answers.

Interestingly enough, one marriage between William O’Neill and an Unknown Unknown happened in Rathdown in 1871. I suspected that something went wrong with the transcription, but nope. The only detail about this person was her father was deceased and had been a policeman.

Source: Irish Genealogy

Do you have any ancestors that did a disappearing act? Let me know.

--

--